B A H j o u r n a l i s t

Brian Anthony Hernandez

Why cover events using Twitter? It works. Here’s some advice

Today for work, I’ll be posting quotations, trends and pictures on Twitter during the Social Media Strategies Conference where “leading digital, client and agency experts” will discuss the power of social media.

You can read my updates on my account or by following this hashtag on Twitter: #amsms10.

Among the high-profile speakers are musician Pete Wentz of Fall Out Boy, Huffington Post president Greg Coleman, Foursquare co-founder Naveen Selvadurai and Wikipedia founder Jimmy Wales. Pretty cool, eh?

Last month, I live tweeted during The New York Times Small Business Summit and received positive feedback from attendees and co-workers. During the event, almost 100 new people started following my Twitter account and several of the high-profile speakers retweeted and responded to my tweets. The MC also read one of my tweets aloud to the more than 500 attendees.

While there, I met Brooke Howell, an editor at news aggregation website SmartBrief. She often live tweets during events. I asked her a few questions to help you and me learn about live tweeting. Her answers:

1) Why do you live tweet events?

First, my readers – small-business owners – are busy people, who may not have the time or money to travel to conferences and other events that offer learning opportunities for them. I’m lucky to get to be there and by tweeting what I’m seeing and hearing, it helps give them a chance to get the information as it’s happening and have at least an approximation of the live experience.

Second, when I attend events like this, I usually plan to blog about them after, so tweeting live helps me to take notes.   Finally, tweeting is a way to connect with people, so I find that I bring in new readers, meet new experts and learn new ideas by tweeting live.

2) Do you get good responses from your followers? And do you get new followers at each event you cover?

I definitely get good responses and am so excited when people retweet me. I also get new followers because when people see me tweeting and like what I’m saying they tend to follow me to see what I might say after the event.

3) What advice do you have for someone who wants to live tweet his or her first event?

My first piece of advice would be to make sure you are going to have good access to the Internet on your computer – and bring a smartphone for backup. I have been to conferences and found that I couldn’t get my computer to connect and so I had to tweet from my BlackBerry.

Use a Twitter client such as Hootsuite or TweetDeck so you can set up different columns of tweets and view them all at once on your screen. I find that the most useful to have in front of me at a live event are my sent tweets, tweets with the hashtag for the event and tweets that mention me. That helps me to retweet people who beat me to good quotes.

Also, look up the Twitter names of the people who are speaking beforehand so you can use them when you tweet what they are saying.

If you would like to talk to Brooke or me more about using social media to cover events, feel free to shoot me a message at Hernandez.BrianAnthony@gmail.com. Thanks for reading. Tweet away!

October 13, 2010 - Posted by | Online, Work, Writing

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

