B A H j o u r n a l i s t

Brian Anthony Hernandez

Mission accomplished – I’m living and working in NYC

In June, I left my job in Phoenix to fulfill two life goals:

1) Live in New York City. I moved to Brooklyn on Aug. 14.
2) Work in NYC. Today at 12:07 p.m., I accepted a job offer.

Starting Aug. 25, I’m a full-time business reporter for TechMediaNetwork’s BusinessNewsDaily.com. My editor, Robert Roy Britt, also oversees the company’s other major websites such as SPACE.com, LiveScience, TechNewsDaily and Newsarama. Basically, according to TechMediaNetwork, the company “is a network of world-renowned technology and entertainment sites.” BND, the online publication I’m working for, launched this month. My reporting will focus on small businesses and startups. I also will contribute to the site’s social-media efforts and will be allowed to write for the other TechMediaNetwork publications.

My office on Park Avenue and 31st Street in Midtown is a few blocks away from the Empire State Building, Bryant Park, Times Square, Herald Square, Fashion District and Museum of Sex, among other notable places. I’m excited to work for this growing company and with my direct supervisor, managing editor Jeanette Mulvey. Heck, she told me the office gets free pizza on Mondays, free bagels on Fridays and free tea throughout the week. Sold. But in all seriousness, I’m thrilled about this new adventure and ready to work hard for her and our audience.

August 17, 2010 - Posted by | Arizona, Journalism, Online, Personal, Phoenix, Uncategorized, Work

6 Comments »

  1. Awesome — congrats Brian!

    Comment by Kevin | August 17, 2010 | Reply

  2. Brian, HOW do you do it? You are fabulous! Congratulations on the job and new life in NYC. I’ll have to take som vacay time to visit you. 😀

    Comment by Amy G | August 17, 2010 | Reply

  3. Hey Brian,

    congratulations, I think you got your own record on getting a job so soon, although your qualifications were definately making that happen. We’ll be almost neighbors, my station is on 34 Street, 2 blocks aways from Park ave!!!! welcome to the most wonderful city in the world.

    Comment by Marlene Peralta | August 18, 2010 | Reply

    • Thanks for the warm welcome, Marlene. We’ll have to grab lunch or after-work drinks sometime. It feels good to be in the city.

      Comment by Brian Anthony Hernandez | August 18, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

